I want to extend a very warm welcome to my friend and colleague, K.M. Jackson, a native New Yorker, former fashion designer and current writer of contemporary women’s fiction and romance. She is presently promoting her wonderful new release, BOUNCE – I’ll let Kwana tell you more about that! Oh and don’t forget to enter the Rafflecopter $50 giveaway – link at the end of the post.

Thanks so much for having me on your blog Joanna. It’s a real honor to be here.Kwana_wall-3-300x300

 Whether or not you loved or hated it, is there a book that has grabbed you by the throat and changed the way you write?

There are honestly too many books to name. I’ve been a huge romance fan and a book lover for longer than I can remember. But I will say that reading Helen Fielding’s Bridget Jones’s Diary with her irreverent voice and every woman style made be think for the first time that writing was something that I may be able to do.

 You have had an interesting background as a fashion designer – has this influenced the books you write and the genres you choose?

 I think my creative background has influenced me quite a bit. Especially with my titles for Crimson Romance which are all set around characters with creative art backgrounds. In Through The Lens we have a photographer looking for love, in Seduction’s Canvas there is a painter and in my upcoming February 10th release: Threads of Desire I have Gabby, a fashion designer trying to find her happily ever after.

 Have you ever written a book you didn’t like? Why didn’t you like it? (Don’t have to name it J)

 This is a funny one. I can say that by far I’m my own worst critic, so though I love them all, part of me still cringes at them too. I’m like the actor that can’t watch herself on screen.

 

JK Rowling spoke about the moment Harry Potter took form in her mind. But she had no pen and had to sit in a train for four hours so she sat and stared and let the ideas tumble around in her thoughts. How do you capture the first ideas for a story?

 Oh gosh. It’s awful. I always get ideas at the absolute worst times. In the shower, right after I go to bed and especially when I’m driving. Never when I’m in front of the keyboard and ready to work. I’m the queen of turning the computer back on at 1AM or rushing into my driveway and opening up my notebook before the muse flutters back to her little happy place.

 Do you write your first draft with your head or your heart?

 Is there a difference? I feel like my brain never shuts down and the ideas keep in coming and I love them all so I can’t really separate my head and my heart.

 How do you choose your book dedications?  

 This is an easy one. So far they have all been dedicated to my wonderful husband. He’s sticking by me and I’m enjoying sticking with him.

You have just made your debut into Indie publishing with your new release, BOUNCE. Why have you chosen to self-publish and can you tell us about the book including a short excerpt if you want to share?

 I’m so excited about bringing BOUNCE out and sharing it with the world. It’s a story that’s near and dear to my heart and one that honestly was a close, but not quite, fit with traditional houses. It’s part women’s fiction and part romance. Fits under both African-American romance as well as multi-cultural. It’s a book that has lots of moving parts and doesn’t quite fit into one box but is I think a real snapshot of the world as it is today. Plus it’s quite sexy so there’s that fun bit.

 

Here is a bit about BOUNCE:Kwana bookcover -Bounce1400 B

 

Growing up as a young girl, Sabrina Jacobs could only dream her life would be this good. She has a successful career, a famous sexy husband, two children, a house in an affluent Westchester suburb and a shoe collection worthy of a magazine spread. Too bad it’s all a façade.

It has been almost a year since her husband admitted he had an affair with a younger and bouncier co-worker. Follow Sabrina as she tries to rein in her out-of-control life by kicking her husband out on his rear, chucking her career and even firing her too-cute-for-the-job nanny. But how will she survive as a stay-at-home mom in the land of designer clothes, designer kids’ parties and designer babies? Hmm… maybe the hunky young French teacher, who has been flirting shamelessly with Sabrina, is just what she needs to take her mind off her problems. Well, not if her husband has something to say about it. Will Sabrina be able to forgive and still be true to herself?

  And an Excerpt from Bounce

Sean reaches over and pulls my body in close to his, cradling my backside into his groin. He’s sleeping soundly, but his erection is strong and wide-awake.

Even at rest my husband is horny.

Me? Not so much. I look around at the shadows the moon makes on the wall and wonder what’s going on in his dreams right now to make him so excited. Am I in there? The thought puts a heavy weight on my chest. As Sean’s hand trails from my waist to my breast, my body involuntarily tenses up. I know I should relax and just enjoy it but it feels almost impossible right now.

Snapshots of our life together run through my mind: The golden couple. A charmed life, rags to riches and all that. Two kids, three-car garage. All the things that say my life should be perfect.

As if.

I also have a $50 Amazon Gift Card giveaway that I’d love for your readers to enter. Just click on and good luck! Here is the link: a Rafflecopter giveaway“>

To find out more about K.M. Jackson and to purchase BOUNCE:
Amazon: http://amzn.to/1cOu9FS
Barnes and Noble: http://bit.ly/K0FcVJ
Kobo: http://bit.ly/1i2SIUi
K.M. can be found on her site at http://www.kwana.com
On Facebook at: https://www.facebook.com/KmJacksonAuthor
On twitter at: https://twitter.com/kwanawrites

