Callie Hutton author pic

It’s my pleasure to welcome Callie Hutton to my blog today. Callie spent years writing articles, interviews for magazines and company newsletters then decided to write books. She is a prolific writer of wonderful historical romances, some seasoned with a drop of time travel, and produces her books at a dizzying rate.

Okay, Callie, here’s where I put you on the spot:

Whether or not you loved or hated it, is there a book that has grabbed you by the throat and changed the way you write?

Not really. I read craft books all the time as well as books in the romance genre. I think I learn a little bit more with each book I read. If I had to pick one book that made an impression on me more than another it would be Deb Dixon’s Goal, Motivation and Conflict. (JL: A writer’s bible, that one!)

As I mentioned above, you are a very prolific writer. Can you give us slower writers a few hints as to how you manage this enviable feat? I’d love to know your process.

Writing is my job, just like any other job I’ve ever had. I’m at my computer ready to work by 9 AM each day. I take a lunch break, and continue until about 4 PM each day. I also put in another hour or two in the evening. Now all of that time isn’t just ‘writing’ but working at ‘writing’. That means interacting with fans on FB, doing promotion work, answering emails, editing, plotting, outlining, research—all the tasks that go with being a writer. I work Monday through Friday on that schedule, and put in about 3 hours a day Saturday and Sunday. (JL: Wow, Callie, that is dedication. But you’re right, to get the book done, it has to be your job.)

Have you ever written a book you didn’t like? Why didn’t you like it? (Don’t have to name it)

No. I loved all my books. There are a couple that I might have done a little bit differently, but certainly not enough to wish I hadn’t written it.

JK Rowling spoke about the moment Harry Potter took form in her mind. But she had no pen and had to sit in a train for four hours so she sat and stared and let the ideas tumble around in her thoughts. How do you capture the first ideas for a story?

They come from everywhere. I heard a song on the radio recently that started a plot forming in my mind. One time in church there was a family in front of us who had a young daughter that the mother addressed as “Olivia.” I was immediately captured by that name, and while the service continued, I wrote the outline for The Elusive Wife on the back of a blank check. (JL: Great story!)

Do you write your first draft with your head or your heart?

Both. My heart gets the emotional juices going, but my head is always aware of form, structure, character arc, plot, etc. And I don’t usually have a ‘first draft.’ I edit as I go along, so when the book is finished, I go through it a couple of more times, but don’t make any major changes. (JL: There seem to be so many theories on that one. But it sounds like you have found what works for you and there is no doubt it does work!)

Now let’s get to your exciting new release: The Dukes Quandary. I understand this is the 2nd book in your series called The Marriage Mart Mayhem. And you are presently writing Books 3 & 4, also to be released in 2014. Please tell us about the inspiration for this series and where Books 3 & 4 might take us.

I mentioned the inspiration for The Elusive Wife, #1 in the series. After that book was edited and ready to go, my editor at Entangled asked me to write a story using Coventry’s (the hero in The Elusive Wife) best friend, Drake. As I was writing The Duke’s Quandary (Drake’s story), we talked about making a series out of it. The Lady’s Disgrace #3 (Abigail’s story) will be released in October, and The Baron’s Homecoming, #4 (Marion’s story) in December. In 2015, the last three books for the remaining sisters will release. Two of those books will take us into Scotland.

 

The Duke’s Quandary 

DukesQuandry Callie HuttonBlurb:

London 1814…

 Drake, Duke of Manchester is searching the Marriage Mart for a perfect bride. He wants a woman who is poised, sophisticated, and worthy of the title Duchess. But most of all, he wants a woman who does not want the useless emotion of love.

 Socially awkward Miss Penelope Clayton isn’t meant for marriage. A serious botanist, she has no desire to wed, so being forced by her guardian to participate in the Season to find a husband is torture. She’ll never fit in with the ton, especially if they discover she’s been pretending to be a man within the scientific community.

 As Drake’s family makes over Penelope, turning her from naive bluestocking to enchanting debutante, he is put upon to introduce her to society and eligible bachelors. Despite dance lessons and new gowns, Penelope is the opposite of poised and sophisticated as she stumbles from one mishap to the next. Why then, does he find it so hard to resist her?

Thank you so much for sharing your writing life with us, Callie.I love historical romance and your series sounds fabulous. The Duke’s Quandary is already on my TBR list.Now go back and keep churning out your great books!

Find out more about Callie Hutton:

Twitter:  @calliehutton

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Callie-Hutton/206166449404454;

Goodreads: https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/5349775.Callie_Hutton

Website: www.calliehutton.com

Buy links: Amazon: http://amzn.to/1cEfS2r

Barnes & Noble: http://bit.ly/1bzDebf

Kobo: http://bit.ly/1pdjAFz

